top of page

Big Moments of 2017

I wrote about the highlights of my year in 2016 so I thought it would be nice to keep up the tradition for this past year. I really do enjoy taking the time to look back. To review all that has happened - reflect on the challenges I faced - my successes and joys - and then to summarize a list of my best and biggest moments. These are the moments that stand out to me the most...

Photo by Bryan Minear on Unsplash

THE SOLAR ECLIPSE!!!!

There are hardly any words to describe just how spectacular this experience truly was. We traveled up to Sylva, NC to meet with friends and see the eclipse at full totality. It was the best thing I've ever done! I think I nearly cried when the moon passed over the sun. You knew that you were seeing something special. If you care to see a short little video of when the sky went dark, I just posted it here.

Photo by Steven Coffey on Unsplash

MOVING TO A NEW PLACE

It was pretty stressful having to move but in the end, it's a better living situation. This space has the feeling of home. I adore my neighbors and really want to make a point to get to know them better in this new year. We also had the pleasure of building and planting a raised garden in our backyard. We didn't harvest any veggies from our Fall planting but we'll try again in the Spring.

MOM'S SURPRISE BIRTHDAY

My Mom turned 60 last year and it was SO much fun planning her party. Most of our fam was there and many of her friends and former coworkers were able to make it out. We had a taco bar and a beautiful cake from Suarez Bakery here in Charlotte. I highly recommend their delicious treats! And she loves Elvis Presley so we couldn't go without getting her an impersonator! It was terrific!

CONCERTS AND HULAWEEN!!!!

I went to my fair share of concerts last year and had the best time. Sylvan Esso was one of my absolute favorites (Fillmore Charlotte). STS9. Big Gigantic. Umphrey's McGee and Moon Taxi. Bob Moses at The Underground. Stop Light Observations at The Evening Muse. Big Wild at the Orange Peel in Asheville. And then of course, HULAWEEN!! This is a music festival in Suwannee, Florida and if you ever get the chance to go, you should take it!

Hulaween was phenomenal this year. All the art installations blew me away. I loved every minute of it. Dressing up at music festivals is always a lot of fun and since Hulaween is near Halloween, that makes it even better! I was a Disco Ball this year and it was so much fun! The costume took a lot of work but it was well worth it. I'm already plotting my costume for next year.

>> Looking back on my photos from last year, I also went to a lot of really great art shows! I want more of that again this year. Note to self. <<

GOALS AND STRIDES

I really do feel that I began making strides in the many things I want to accomplish. I'm closer to making things happen and continue to learn how to create a life that I love. I'm paying off debt. I'm writing more and creating more. I've started drawing again. I'm learning hula-hooping tricks. I'm taking care of myself more - bubble baths, meditation and yoga, saying no when necessary. It's a beautiful thing to see - growth, accomplishment, and self care.

I started 2017 with the hope that I would allow myself to fail more. That I would take risks and try new things. As I come into a new year, I want to continue leaning into the possibility of failure so that I become more open to the opportunity of sucess. I'm working on a couple projects and I'm really excited for what this year will offer.

To help round out my year and plan for the year ahead, I'm using YearCompass and I really enjoy it. It's helping me organize my thoughts and asking some really great questions. I know that it's already January but sometimes you have to take the turning of the calendar with a little more ease.

Until next time...

Recent Posts...
bottom of page