top of page

Wild Ones | Poetry

I've had a love for poetry for as long as I can remember. Vivid memories of the poetry page in Seventeen magazine (or the pre-teen version??) and cutting out the poems I liked best - using them in collages or pasting them in my journal to keep. I also wrote plenty of crappy poems in a stockpile of notebooks I still have. Along with unfinished song lyrics too. There are the occasional few that were good for their time. And some more recent ones that helped articulate the emotions I was experiencing and needed to work through.

So, I've decided to start sharing poetry on the blog more often. To create an archive of favorite poems and poets and to connect others to this mysterious and often moving craft of words.

This first one I want to share was sent to me by a friend and was part of a community's morning prayer and meditation. It struck a chord in me and I couldn't let it go. I've been meditating on it ever since and had to let the words move through my hands as I lettered the poem before me.

The author, Joel McKerrow, is a performance poet, speaker, and educator. I'm still learning more about him and his work. If you're interested, check out his website.

Recent Posts...
bottom of page