top of page

Surprise Birthday Trip!

In just a few days, I'll be boarding a plane and flying across the country for 4 days and nights in Las Vegas, Nevada. WE'RE GOING TO VEGAS, BABY!!

Photo by Jakob Owens via Unsplash

I'm SUPER STOKED!

We're going somewhere after Vegas but I don't know where. At first the whole trip was a secret. He told me to take off work for the entire week of my birthday and didn't tell me why. So that was a surprise!! -- Obviously, I knew we had to be going somewhere but I wasn't sure if we would be driving or flying.

I knew it wasn't anywhere out of the country since both of us need to get passports. Mine expired a few years ago. Time to get that baby renewed!

Photo by Viko Mozara via Unsplash

Once he bought the tickets, it was harder for him to keep it a secret. He told me were flying though and couldn't decide if we should go to three places or just two. I tend to lean toward the "less is more" mantra when traveling. Because if you spend too much time in the arrival and departure game, you start to feel pretty exhausted. It's nice to settle into a destination for a few days and really explore and see ALL the things. Does anyone else feel the same way? Or do you like to cram lots of sights and places into a vacation?

Photo by Jakob Owens via Unsplash

I've been told that we are keeping it down to two destinations and we will fly out to the second place on my birthday. I really have no idea where this plane will be landing. I don't want to know until I get to the airport that day either.

I've got a few ideas...and I could google some of the clues I've been given to figure it out but I'll remain puzzled until we get to the gate. Eep!! I'm just so excited to pack a suitcase and get on a plane! I haven't flown much since becoming an adult out on my own in the world. My mom used to work for the airlines so I grew up flying for free. We traveled so much and I am very lucky we had the opportunities to see so many places when I was young. I was very fortunate and didn't even realize it.

Photo by Tim Gouw via Unsplash

The one thing I know from the past few years is that I want to make travel a priority! Even if it's doing a big trip every other year and smaller trips in between. I want to see so much of the world. And traveling doesn't have to be expensive. You can find so many amazing deals when you keep your eye out and look at the right times. If any of you have travel blogs or sites that you swear by, let me know the deets!

Until next time.

Recent Posts...
bottom of page