top of page

Time Flies

The weather is getting cooler, folks! Even though Fall is my favorite, I'd still like to enjoy a couple more weeks of Summer. It flew by WAY too fast! We did start our "fall planting" in the newly built garden this weekend. (The garden was empty all summer but we slowly added dirt and a rock pathway in the middle.) I am clueless when it comes to gardening...ok, thats not true but my skills are min-i-mal! We're going to try our hand at growing broccoli, red cabbage, brussels sprouts, swiss chard (which is a GORGEOUS plant btw), rosemary, thyme, and sage. Anyone else have a garden? 

Had a pretty full weekend of thrift shopping, working a coffee demo, gardening, a trip to the farmers market, and going to a pure barre class with a friend. Let's be clear - Pure Barre is basically just tiny movements that make your body ache until you want to die. Yet...somehow still enjoyable. I don't get it. The class was free and outside with 200-ish other females at Sycamore Brewing on Sunday morning. It also had me realizing that I live super close to the rail trail and really need to take advantage of this trail for running!

After the class, my friend and I stuck around to enjoy a couple beverages on the patio. PATIO SEASON IS HERE! At least for this week... We all know weather in NC is unpredictable. Conversation led to my tattoos and I realized that I have to yet to talk about them on the blog and it's something I've been wanting to do. 

Tempus Fugit by Norman Duenas

My first tattoo came after about 10 years of wanting one and never making the time or saving the money to actually have it done. I had planned for my first tattoo to be of a bird because I felt a spiritual connection to seeing birds in flight. At first, I thought I wanted a simple bird silhouette on the top of my foot and then I began realizing that I wanted something much bigger. I wanted the bird's wings to be spread out in flight but I wasn't sure what kind of bird or what it would really look like. I needed an artist to draw something out. 

This finally happened when I took a solo trip to the beach for a weekend as I was trying to discern some MAJOR decisions in my life. I decided it was time and walked into the shop to discuss my vision. As I was searching for something the tattoo artist could garner inspiration from, I ended up finding an illustration by an artist I had recently started following. The illustration was by Norman Duenas and I couldn't get over it. I had found the one.

For me, this image represents my rootedness and my free spirit. Both are important parts of me that seem at odds with one another but as I've matured, I understand that these characteristics can coexist. I am able to possess grounded-ness and an adventurous outlook on life that makes up the whole of who I am.

Tempus Fugit means "Time flies"and the longer I have this tattoo, the more it means to me. The passing of time has always been something I've wrestled with. There have been many journal posts throughout the years with groanings and worries about time being so finite and moving too quickly. Discontent with knowing that I will never be able to experience all that this big wild world has to offer because there simply isn't enough time. 

Do you ever feel like that? That there isn't enough time to enjoy life? That it all passes too quickly? 

Image by Petradr on Unsplash

It can be easy to stop there with the worry and be sad that it's all just slipping away. But don't stop there. Know that how you spend your time is important. The things you care about and want to pursue in life matter and prioritizing your time around what you care about most is essential to living your best life. Don't overfill your schedule and try to meet someone else's expectations of you. What do YOU want to do with your time?

Also, acknowledge that the people you spend your time with has a great affect on you. Choose these people wisely and when you're with them, BE with them. Your moments with them may fade away far too soon.

Be grateful and be kind in this world. We all wake up hoping that today will be a good day. Some of us organize our calendars, set goals and intentions, and have set routines; and some of us take the day as it comes and do what needs to be done. We're all just passing through but at the same time, we're not. We are here. We are now. You are here. You are now.

This is your time.

This is our time.

Recent Posts...
bottom of page