top of page

Be Open


When we got the notice mid-February, I lost my shit. The owners were not renewing our lease and we would have to move out by the end of March. This was not okay for so many reasons.

I listed out all the reasons...

- The expense of moving can be outrageous right out the gate. Putting down a deposit and then first month's rent along with any other fees. The thought of it made me shudder.

- I hate moving! The time spent packing and trying to transfer ALL of your things with care is not easy. It's also exhausting.

- I just paid for piano movers to move my childhood piano from Winston-Salem to Charlotte. I've wanted to get this piano here for so long. Even though H plays it more and better than I do (mo betta) -- it was so great to get it here finally!

- Must also add that I just paid for the piano to get tuned in January...for H's birthday. Cool. We get to pay to move it again and possibly have it tuned again...hoorayyyy!

- He just paid for a pest treatment that lasts for a year or so and now we won't be here. The pest man even came last weekend, woke H up from a hangover nap, i.e. COMPLETELY out of it, and HE LET HIM SPRAY for a follow-up treatment that cost $79......What the??? LOL!!! I tell ya, this guy.

- We've only been here for a year so it feels like we just settled in. I honestly don't know how people move into places and get everything decorated just-so right at the beginning. We still had things we wanted to do in this space but it doesn't matter anymore... moving on.

Well, we can now breathe a sigh of relief because WE FOUND A PLACE!! Hallelujah! I can't wait to show all of you!

All the searching and driving around was starting to get old. It was difficult to find somewhere in our budget with enough square footage near the city and I had already given up hope. We started looking in areas farther away which would mean a longer commute. But WE FOUND A PLACE!

One day, I'll live within walking distance of the light-rail or in a walkable neighborhood. Until then...we're leaving the Northeast to head to the Southwest side of Charlotte. And I'm totally okay with that.

I will miss being close to Plaza Midwood and NoDa but now I'll be closer to the West Side (Best Side) and explore all the things happening on that end of town.

After all the stress of having to move, I keep coming back to this mantra hanging in our living room...

I bought this little image when we decided to move in together. He was my "what's next?" Moving in together was a "what's next?" I could have been resistant but I decided to remain open.

I can't get this mantra out of my head now.

"Be open to whatever comes next." {tweet that}

Openness means not closed off. Allowing the ebbs and flows and living into the unanswered questions. Being open equals abandon, my word of the year.

I haven't thought about my word in a few weeks. This made me realize how easy it is to lose focus. It's easy to lose sight of what your dreams are. The routine and the ordinary can have a strong hold on your day-to-day life. Stress can manipulate her way in without even realizing it. But remaining open, allows more breathing room.

Remain open. Ask "What's next?" with anticipation and joy. This is what it means to live a life full of adventure + delight.

Recent Posts...
bottom of page