top of page

Upcycled Lamps - DIY

Let's keep this plain and simple, shall we?

This project is SUPER easy.

I lucked out and found some twin gold brass lamps at a local Goodwill. One slightly different from the other so fraternal twins, not identical.

Headed to LOWES to find spray paint and decided on a brushed silver look... called "Satin Nickel"

And if you're slightly impatient like me, go for the PAINT & PRIMER IN ONE.

Materials Needed:

1. Brass Lamp Base

2. Painters Tape

3. Spray Paint with Primer in one (or a separate spray primer)

4. Sandpaper block of at least 100-grit/medium

5. Cardboard

6. Lampshade

Other Materials You May Need:

- finial

- lamp harp

Let's Upcycle!

1. Wipe off your lamp base with a damp rag to remove dust and grime.

2. Take your sandpaper block and lightly sand the base so it accepts the spray paint well.

3. Tape off areas of the lamp you do not want to be painted. - I ended up putting the electric cords for my lamps in ziplock bags and taped where it connected to the base so there would be no paint on this section.

4. Put lamp base on a piece of cardboard outside and spray away. - Make sure to follow the directions of the can and not to spray too closely or else the paint won't be even and may build a drippy look.

5. Let dry for a few hours and do a second coat if needed.

6. It's best to let it dry overnight (even though you REALLY want to put the shades on them right now and use them immediately).

Here they are in their natural habitat...

I was a little disappointed that the lamp shade above ended up a cream color when the light is turned on. I didn't pay attention to the store display I guess. And it took me forever to find a small enough lamp shade for the one below because it needed a finial at the top. I'll spare you the story of my search that lasted for weeks.

So yes, I have two different style lamp shades on each side of the bed. Mix and match!

SaveSaveSave

Recent Posts...
bottom of page